Committee (composed of representatives from the Department of Lands and Forests, Power Commission, Department of Municipal Affairs, University of Alberta and Department of Agriculture) deals with the proper use of submarginal agricultural land; and the Farm Economics Branch, formed Jan. 1, 1961, studies various economic farm problems and advises farmers on management techniques.

Credit is made available to young farmers for the purchase of farm lands under the Farm Purchase Credit Act and the Farm Home Improvement Act. Schools of Agriculture and Home Economics are operated at Olds and Vermilion (see p. 419).

British Columbia.—The Department of Agriculture has four main branches. The Administrative Branch is responsible for the general direction of agricultural policies, the administration of legislation affecting agriculture and the compilation of reports and publications. This Branch also maintains direct supervision of the Field Crops, Soil Survey, Plant Pathology, Entomology, Apiary, Markets and Statistics, Farmers' Institutes and Women's Institutes Branches.

The Livestock Branch engages in the promotion and supervision of the livestock industry and provides veterinary services affecting disease control regulations; its work also includes supervision of stock brands, inspection of dairy and fur farm premises, and inspection of beef grading. In addition, the Branch supervises the operations of the Dairy Branch in the inspection of commercial dairy premises. Officials are stationed at 11 centres throughout the province.

The Horticulture Branch supervises fruit, vegetable and seed production, and provides advice on plant diseases and insect pest control. The Branch maintains field offices at 10 points in the southerly section of the province.

The Agricultural Development and Extension Branch offers general information services to farmers through 19 offices which cover all major farming districts. In addition, this Branch provides agricultural engineering service, supervision of the government landclearing program, and farm labour services and promotes junior club projects. The Poultry Branch offers extension services to the poultry industry.

Subsection 2.—Agricultural Colleges and Schools

All provinces provide facilities or assistance for training in agricultural science at university level. The colleges and schools are administered by either the Department of Agriculture or the Department of Education of the respective province.

Newfoundland.—There are no agricultural colleges in the province but the Agriculture Division of the Department of Mines and Resources provides a number of scholarships annually for young men to attend agricultural colleges in other provinces.

Prince Edward Island.—A two-year course in scientific agriculture offered at Prince of Wales College, Charlottetown, prepares students for third year at Macdonald College, Que. In the Vocational School, short courses provide knowledge and skill in agricultural pursuits and develop in the student a sense of the dignity and importance of agriculture as a calling and an understanding of the value of the industry to the province.

Nova Scotia.—The Nova Scotia Agricultural College at Truro offers two courses: the first two years of a degree course in agriculture; and a two-year course in vocational agriculture. The College assists in conducting short courses at various provincial centres, supports Folk Schools and gives direction to 4-H Club organizations. Tuition is free for Canadian students.